Florida Academy of Sciences

Florida Academy of Sciences

Sections and Section Chairs

Below are the 2017-2018 FAS sections, along with the section chairs. If you are not sure which section your research may fit, please contact your section chair or the Program chair, Dr. David Karlen: karlen@epchc.org.

AGR - Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences: TBD

ANT - Anthropological Sciences: 

Ms. Hailey Duecker, The C.A. Pound Human Identification Laboratory, University of Florida, 2033 Mowry Road, Gainesville, FL 32610, email: hduecker@ufl.edu; Co-Chair Ms. Janet Finlayson, The C.A. Pound Human Identification Laboratory, University of Florida, 2033 Mowry Road, Gainesville, FL 32610, email: jfinlayson@ufl.edu; and Co-Chair Ms. Amanda Friend, The C.A. Pound Human Identification Laboratory, University of Florida, 2033 Mowry Road, Gainesville, FL 32610, email: afriend@ufl.edu

AOS - Atmospheric and Oceanographic Sciences: 

Dr. Travis Hunsucker, Ocean Engineering and Sciences, Florida Institute of Technology, 150 West University Blvd, Melbourne, FL 32901, phone: 321-674-7334, email: jhunsucker2008@my.fit.edu; and Co-Chair Dr. David Karlen, Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough Count, 3629 Queen Palm Drive, Tampa, FL 33619, phone: 813-627-2600 x1202

BIO - Biological Sciences: 

Dr. Laura Mudd, Department of Biology, Barry University, 11300 NE 2nd Ave, Miami Shores, FL 33161, phone: 305-899-3204, email: lmudd@barry.edu; and Co-Chair: Dr. Iain Duffy, Department of Math and Science, Saint Leo University, 33701 State Road 52, Saint Leo, FL 33574, phone: 352-588-8410

CMS - Computer & Mathematical Sciences: 

Dr. Ricardo Jimenez, Department of Math and Computer Science, Barry University, 11300 NE 2nd Ave, Miami Shores, FL 33161, phone: 305-899-4945, email: rjimenez@barry.edu

ENG - Engineering Sciences: 

Mr. John Baker, PO Box 26, Tallahassee, FL 32302, phone: 850-510-7729, email: bdozen@hotmail.com; and Co-Chair: Dr. Sesha Srinivasan, Physics Department, Florida Polytechnic University, 4700 Research Way, Lakeland, FL, 33805, phone: 863-874-8527, email: ssrinivasan@floridapoly.edu

ENV - Environmental Chemistry and Chemical Sciences: 

Dr. Darin Bell, Department of Math and Science, Saint Leo University, 33701 State Road 52, Saint Leo, FL 33574, phone: 352-588-7368, email: darin.bell@saintleo.edu

RES - Florida Committee on Rare & Endangered Plants & Animals: 

Dr. I. Jack Stout, Department of Biology, University of Central Florida, Department of Biology, 4000 Central Florida Blvd., Orlando, FL 328162368, phone: 407-823-2919, email: i.stout@ucf.edu

MED - Medical Sciences: 

Dr. Ana Jimenez, Department of Biology, Barry University, 11300 NE 2nd Ave, Miami Shores, FL 33161, phone: 305-899-3276 email: amjimenez@barry.edu

PSS - Physics and Space Sciences: 

Dr. Geuorgui Bourov, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, 600 S Clyde Morris Blvd, Daytona Beach, FL 32114, phone: 386-323-8829, email: bouro987@erau.edu

SOC - Social Science: 

Dr. Jennifer Wortham, University of Tampa 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. Tampa, FL 33606, phone: 813-257-1722, email: jwortham@ut.edu

TCH - Science Teaching: 

Co-Chair Dr. Tom Arnold, Nova Southeastern University – Tampa Campus, 3632 Queen Palm Drive, Tampa, FL 33619, phone: 813-574-5303, email: tarnold1@nova.edu, and Co-Chair Ms. Carmen Carpenter, South University Bachelor of Health Sciences Program, 9801 Belvedere Road, Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411, phone: 912-226-2821 email: ccarpenter@southuniversity.edu

GEO - Geosciences: 

Dr. Al Karlin, Southwest Florida Water Management District, 2379 Broad Street Brooksville, FL 34604, phone: 352-796-7211 x 4204, email: Al.Karlin@swfwmd.state.fl.us