Florida Academy of Sciences

Florida Academy of Sciences

Sections and Section Chairs

Below are the 2017-2018 FAS sections, along with the section chairs. If you are not sure which section your research may fit, please contact your section chair or the Program chair, Dr. David Karlen: karlen@epchc.org.

AGR - Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences: TBD

Julie Boswell, Student, UF- College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, Gainesville FL32611, phone: 772-480-3251,email: julieboswell@ufl.edu

ANT - Anthropological Sciences: 

Mr. Justin Maiers, University of South Florida, 4202 E. Fowler Ave. Tampa, FL 33620, phone: 813-947-2138, email: maiersj@mail.usf.edu

AOS - Atmospheric and Oceanographic Sciences: 

Dr. Michael Robinson, Department of Biology, Barry University, 11300 NE 2nd Ave, Miami Shores, FL 33161, phone: 305-899-4930, email: mprobinson@mail.barry.edu; and Co-Chair Dr. David Karlen, Environmental Protection Commission of Hillsborough County, 3629 Queen Palm Drive, Tampa, FL 33619, phone: 813-627-2600 x1202

BIO - Biological Sciences: 

Dr. Laura Mudd, Department of Biology, Barry University, 11300 NE 2nd Ave, Miami Shores, FL 33161, phone: 305-899-3204, email: lmudd@barry.edu; and Co-Chair: Dr. Iain Duffy, Department of Math and Science, Saint Leo University, 33701 State Road 52, Saint Leo, FL 33574, phone: 352-588-8410

CMS - Computer & Mathematical Sciences: 

Dr. Ricardo Jimenez, Department of Math and Computer Science, Barry University, 11300 NE 2nd Ave, Miami Shores, FL 33161, phone: 305-899-4945, email: rjimenez@barry.edu

ENG - Engineering Sciences: 

Mr. John Baker, PO Box 26, Tallahassee, FL 32302, phone: 850-510-7729, email: bdozen@hotmail.com; and Co-Chair: Dr. Sesha Srinivasan, Physics Department, Florida Polytechnic University, 4700 Research Way, Lakeland, FL, 33805, phone: 863-874-8527, email: ssrinivasan@floridapoly.edu

ENV - Environmental Chemistry and Chemical Sciences: 

Dr. Darin Bell, Department of Math and Science, Saint Leo University, 33701 State Road 52, Saint Leo, FL 33574, phone: 352-588-7368, email: darin.bell@saintleo.edu

RES - Florida Committee on Rare & Endangered Plants & Animals: 

Dr. I. Jack Stout, Department of Biology, University of Central Florida, Department of Biology, 4000 Central Florida Blvd., Orlando, FL 328162368, phone: 407-823-2919, email: i.stout@ucf.edu

MED - Medical Sciences: 

Dr. Ana Jimenez, Department of Biology, Barry University, 11300 NE 2nd Ave, Miami Shores, FL 33161, phone: 305-899-3276 email: amjimenez@barry.edu; and Co-chair. Dr. Mark Best MD, MPH. LECOM-Bradenton, 5000 Lakewood Ranch Blvd, Bradenton, FL 34211, phone: 941-782- 5662, email: mbest@lecom.edu

PSS - Physics and Space Sciences: 

Dr. Geuorgui Bourov, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, 600 S Clyde Morris Blvd, Daytona Beach, FL 32114, phone: 386-323-8829, email: bouro987@erau.edu

SOC - Social Science: 

Dr. Jennifer Wortham, University of Tampa 401 W. Kennedy Blvd. Tampa, FL 33606, phone: 813-257-1722, email: jwortham@ut.edu

TCH - Science Teaching: 

Co-Chair Dr. Tom Arnold, Professor of Basic Medical Sciences,  LECOM-Bradenton, 5000 Lakewood Ranch Blvd, Bradenton FL 34211, phone: 941-782-5672, email: tarnold@lecom.edu      
, and Co-Chair Ms. Carmen Carpenter, South University Bachelor of Health Sciences Program, 9801 Belvedere Road, Royal Palm Beach, FL 33411, phone: 912-226-2821 email: ccarpenter@southuniversity.edu

GEO - Geosciences: 

Dr. Al Karlin, Southwest Florida Water Management District, 2379 Broad Street Brooksville, FL 34604, phone: 352-796-7211 x 4204, email: Al.Karlin@swfwmd.state.fl.us